Garden Reviews

Tricia G.

Rating

We were absolutely delighted with our 5 night stay at Debbie and Philip's lovely flat. It is incredibly comfortable and so tastefully decorated. They have thought of all of your needs and made us so very comfortable. Debbie is a Scottish version(and much warmer and funny) of the United States Martha Stewart. They have provided so much more than just the flat, there are maps, tea, biscuits, etc. We hope to come back for an extended stay in the future.

Garden Apartment on 25 Nov 2016

PC & DA, Ontario

Rating

We have travelled to many places and stayed in quite a number of VRBO rentals but none that can compare to this one. Debbie was there to great us and walk us through the apartment to explain where things were and how they worked. Everything you could want or need for your stay was included from slippers to scotch. Philip is so knowledgable of all the Scottish history and was more than willing to spend time talking with us. One thing they did for us was to recommend a driver for hire and Mike was fantastic. The building is located close enough to the city centre that you can be there in about 10 minutes by bus. This is a walkable area. We highy recommend this unit.

Garden Apartment on 04 Sep 2016

Diane K.

Rating

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Apartment at the Pilrig House for two weeks at the end of July and the beginning of August. The apartment was so spacious, modern and spotlessly clean, supplied with everything one could possibly need or want. Debbie and Philip are wonderful hosts - very knowledgeable about the area/attractions & transportation. It is about a 1/2 hour walk to city center but this was not an issue for us. Bus routes are very close by as well as local grocery stores. It was nice to come back to the quiet area of Leith and the apartment to get a break from the hustle and bustle of the city. We were so happy with our accommodation and would definitely recommend the Pilrig House to family and friends!

Garden Apartment on 24 Jul 2016

Chris & Roger, Birmingham

Rating

Having read all the reviews concerning Pilrig House we couldn't wait to arrive for our two week holiday, and we were certainly not disappointed!
We stayed in the Garden Apartment which was absolutely beautiful - had everything we needed at top quality standard and maintained to perfection.
The owners, Debbie and Philip, were so welcoming and informative - nothing was too much trouble. Philip indeed is the fount of all knowledge when it comes to the history of the area and ideas for trips out, thus making the most of the time spent there.
We loved being at Pilrig House so much, and there is so much to see in and around Edinburgh, we booked again for next year, but this time trying the Park Apartment.

Garden Apartment on 26 Sep 2015

Susan V.

Rating

Such a beautiful and special place. It is exactly as pictures show. The couple that run it will give you good directions around town, arrange anything you need and just make you feel at home. We loved it and will be back!

Garden Apartment on 13 Aug 2015

Ilene V., Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Rating

If it were possible to give the Pilrig House more than 5 stars, we would. We have travelled, extensively throughout the world, renting houses and apartments, and have never been as pleased and impressed as we were with the accommodations and hosts as we were with the Pilrig House. The only negative is that we think that our future lodgings will pale in comparison to the Pilrig House. The apartment was spotlessly clean, furnished beautifully and fully equipped to meet every possible need. The location was perfect, too. It was outside of the city, in a park, and within walking distance to all of the main attractions in Edinburgh. A large supermarket and good restaurants are just a few blocks away. Debbie and Philip were warm, friendly and helpful. Philip offered to drive us to different places during our stay and had great stories to share about Edinburgh’s history.
We could list all of the supplies that were available in our apartment, but all we need to say is that it had every possible item anyone would ever need!
We loved our visit to Edinburgh and will always remember it as one of our best trips.

Garden Apartment on 28 May 2015

Sue, Spring Lake, NJ USA

Rating

As previous innkeepers, my husband and I fully realize how much time and energy is needed to run a B@B. Debbie and Philip are excellent at what they do-from cleanliness, to decorating, to literally taking you to Rossalyn Chapel! Both have a wealth of knowledge about Edinburgh and are willing to impart this to you in a very warm and often humorous way. We had a wonderful stay in the Garden Apartment for 10 days and that is do to our wonderful hosts.
The location on the park was great-a feeling of country in the city. We found using the buses easy and that is saying something for people that don't use public transportation very much! Food was really very good-thanks to recommendations from Debbie and Philip. As for our apartment, it was beyond expectations! I have never seen such clean grout in a bath in my entire life! We would love to come back again. Mike and Sue

Garden Apartment on 04 Sep 2014

Karin & Eric, Blairstown, NJ

Rating

My husband and I had the good sense and fortune to find the best place to stay in Edinburgh. It was the very first place I saw on VRBO and I looked no further! The stone building itself is a historical treasure surrounded by manicured gardens and looking over a landscaped park. The location is ideal for travelers, who like us, did not have a car. Walking to the bus-stop or to some of the best local restaurants in Leith took only minutes. The first day we walked to the Royal Botanical Gardens using the lovely Water of Leith Walkway and back home from the Sunday Farmers Market in Stockbridge. We also walked back to the apartment from the Royal Mile in under 15 minutes. When we wanted to take in the sights that were further away, we hired the the Pilrig House recommended driver, Mike, who not only drove us to and from the airport, but also drove us to one of the most scenic areas in Scotland, St Abbs Head, for birdwatching and hiking. Breathtaking! Mike will help you plan any trip of your liking or make recommendations of his own. Great guy! As for the spotless apartment, everything was provided (other than our own food), from bandaids to the addictive shortbread! We made all of our breakfasts, some lunches and dinners in the amply stocked kitchen. The accommodations were top notch, nothing run down. We felt we were the first to ever stay there. Finally, my reason for giving this review the title "Heavenly Stay" is because of the owner Phillip, who was our travel angel! He offered us a wealth of information from maps, brochures and his own humorous and knowladgable reviews. If he asks "Did you already pay for that?", you probably shouldn't do it. He will give you much better alternatives. But Phillip extended himself far beyond our best expectations. On several occasions he gave us a lift, once to a restaurant when it rained and even a small personal tour of historic Edinburgh. Phillip drove us to Leith Mills, (a great place to shop for discounted souvenirs) and walked into the store with us to point out the quality bargains! I know this isn't something to expect as a regular part of your stay but Phillip is just the kind of person who will do something helpful on spur of the moment. We didn't meet Debbie but she was my contact person and couldn't have been more gracious at every opportunity. It's a big world and I may never return to Edinburgh but for as long as I live the Pilrig House and it's owners are a highlight of my heavenly stay in Scotland.

Garden Apartment on 07 Jun 2014

Kathleen J., The Woodlands, TX

Rating

My husband and I stayed at Pilrig House for our anniversary trip. It was the most wonderful experience. The house is so amazing inside and out. The grounds are just beautiful. But our hosts are what made it even more special. We are already planning our trip back next year. The morning after we got to Pilrig I sat in the window seat with a cup of tea looking out on the gardens and the yellow roses. The listing was perfect, it was just as it looked on the internet. It was beautifully maintained. We would definitively recommend Pilrig to anyone!

Garden Apartment on 23 Sep 2013

kgraupma, columbus ohio usa

Rating

Exceptional property in wonderful location. Helpful hosts with an amazing attention to detail. From restaurant and shopping advice to travel maps for excursions. Have never stayed somewhere where they stocked fruit, coffee, tea, milk, cookies, fudge and whiskey for their visitors! Highly recommend!!

Garden Apartment on 03 Sep 2013

Vicki, Arkansas USA

Rating

Felt lucky to have spent two weeks in the Garden apartment! The first week was as a solo traveler. I could not have felt more welcome and taken care of by Debbie and Phillip – perfect blend of privacy and security. The setting of Pilrig House is beautiful and peaceful – adored my views of Arthur’s Seat while sipping whiskey each evening. The kitchen was appointed with everything needed to produce a top notch meal if desired. Debbie has stocked this apartment with an amazing collection of DVDs, books, etc. You have to read the correspondence between the last surviving Balfour servant and Debbie – so sweet and interesting. The location of Pilrig House is excellent for catching a bus and exploring Edinburgh. Before my arrival, my daughter had contacted Debbie and together they had organized a Mother’s day tea at a top notch location. If I have the joy of returning to Edinburgh, I will stay here again. Phillip is also an excellent history source of the area and Pilrig House. Loved it! Thanks again, Phillip and Debbie!

Garden Apartment on 08 May 2013

Bobbie, Ottawa

Rating

Debbie and Philip were outstanding hosts making us feel welcome and comfortable. We used the city buses and explored many areas always "coming home" to comfort and ease. The house is so quiet we slept soundly. We appreciated all the extras Debbie and Philip provided including the trip to Tesco and the city tour.
Since arriving home to Canada we have recommeded Pilrig to all our friends.
I enjoyed a lovely lunch at Martin Wishart's restaurant in Leith. Next time I will book for the cooking demonstration prior to lunch.

Garden Apartment on 22 May 2013

Atieno A.

Rating

The garden apartment was beautiful and fully equipped with all the amenities you would need. It’s very close to town so if you choose you can walk or catch the bus just around the corner and the bus services are very convenient and reliable. Debbie and Philip were very kind and nice hosts, Philip drove me to town to show me around on the first day to get myself familiar with the place and Debbie did also the same and also took me out in their beautiful small villages, very nice scenery around the ocean and everything in general is a must see. I had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend a visit to Edinburgh a city full of history and very beautiful. I’m planning to go back because there are lots of things to do and did not get a chance to finish all of them.

Garden Apartment on 29 May 2013

Brian and Faye, Australia

Rating

What a fantastic place to stay. The accommodation is in a heritage building and the location is particularly good as it is close to all the history of Edinburth and also to Leith with its great choice of restaurants. No detail, to make your stay comfortable, is overlooked by the friendly owners and the apartment is modern, well equipped and beautifully clean. An excellent find for our stay in Edinburgh and can highly recommend.

Garden Apartment on 04 Apr 2013

SS, Pennsylvania, USA

Rating

Thank you to Debbie and Philip for making our stay in Scotland very enjoyable! We had a lovely time and the house was perfect! It had everything we needed and more and was very clean. Philip was nice enough to take us on a quick tour around the town when we arrived and answered any questions we had. He also had suggestions as to where to visit and dine. The house is in a great location, close enough to walk everywhere and see the sights, but set in a lovely park. Very close to resturants and shops. They provided a parking spot for our rental car, which was nice since we didn't use it while staying there. We can't wait to come back for another visit!

Garden Apartment on 01 Sep 2012

saskia g., Amsterdam

Rating

This is a wonderful, cosy, spotless and very beautiful apartment, with flawless Wi-Fi, dvd's, squirrels and a family of foxes to boot! Will definitely visit again, if only to listen to the absolute silence at night...a relief for (Amsterdam) inner-city dwellers! Owners are exceedingly friendy, and very willing to help. Despite its country feel, the apartment is very near town, easy walking distance! So...do not hesitate and book this lovely place, before someone else does!

Garden Apartment on 22 Oct 2012

Chris, New Jersey United States

Rating

Pilrig House sits on the edge of a beautiful dog park that we enjoyed walking through on our way into the city every day. With a short walk across its green space, You'll find yourself on the main drag into Edinburg and in the city's heart in less than twenty minutes on foot. The location is ideal for anyone looking to tour Edinburg, even if you don't have a car hire, as we never turned our car on our entire stay. Also the apartments were immaculately clean and well stocked with all the comforts of home. Debbie and Philip were wonderful and helpful hosts. Highly recommended!

Garden Apartment on 17 Aug 2012

Kate L., San Francisco

Rating

My Summer 2012 was spent traveling throughout the UK. I stayed in London, Cambridge, Dublin, Glascow, and many other locations throughout England, Scotland and Ireland. My stay at Pilrig House was by far my favorite. I fell in love with the cottage, the proprietors, Edinburgh itself, and hated to leave. The hospitaliy was above and beyond the call of duty. I felt entirely at home and had Debbie and Philip to turn to with any questions or advice. I learned so much from them about Edinburgh and Scotland in general. The cottage decor was so to my taste that I took photos and hope to duplicate it in my own home. From the windows you can watch birds, squirels, and little foxes play in the lush floral gardens. I highly recommend Pilrig House and that you stay for awhile because you won't want to leave!

Garden Apartment on 28 Jul 2012

Spring M., North Conway, NH

Rating

We had the BEST stay with Phillip and Debbie! We came to Edinburgh for our honeymoon and the Garden Apt was the PERFECT place for us to relax and call home for 5 days. It is very close to Leith and all the goodies there (The Granary was our favorite restaurant and is about a 10min walk) and less then 20mins to get up into the heart of the city and see the sites. It was very comfortable and we felt at home immediately! Phillip and Debbie were the best hosts and we look forward to staying with them again when we come back to Edinburgh. We have already recommended it as THE PLACE to stay to all our friends and family. You will be comfortable and happy staying here and will honestly not want to leave.

Garden Apartment on 22 Jul 2012

Dick & Joan, Eau Claire, Wisconsin USA

Rating

My wife and I stayed seven days in the garden apartment. We not only pledged "we will surely return", we have already booked the dates and bought the air tickets! Pilrig House pulses with historical charisma. You get this by osmosis, but Phillip and Debbie fan those flames. The apartment is spotless, well appointed in all respects, overlooks a peaceful park - is quiet and well located. You do not need to rent a car. This is five stars +. A special bonus was the tremendous help and advisories given by Debbie, once we fixed our rental dates.

Garden Apartment on 02 May 2012

Judy, Vancouver, Canada

Rating

We spent a week in the Garden Apartment in March 2012, and our only regret is that our stay wasn't longer.
The apartment was immaculate, for starters, and beautifully and comfortably furnished. Arriving there after a long and tiring journey, we were given a warm welcome and enjoyed the tea, cookies and well-stocked fruit bowl provided.
I was only half on holiday, having some work to do on my computer while I was there, and the peaceful, beautiful setting of the apartment was exactly what I needed. When we sat outside in the garden with our tea it felt as if the whole park was there just for us. It was only a short walk to groceries, and a 20 minute walk to downtown Edinburgh, with a bus just around the corner if we got tired after seeing all the sights. We had no trouble finding our way around, and Phillip and Debbie had several excellent suggestions for sights, shopping and restaurants. This was our first visit to Scotland, and we took full advantage of the apartment's many guide books and Scottish-themed CDs, DVDs, and novels - I'm now an Alexander McCall Smith addict!
The added bonus was the telephone - Debbie made a point of letting us know that we could call anywhere in the UK or home to North America as often as we wanted, which gave us an opportunity to call family in the UK to confirm travel plans, and family and friends at home to tell them what a lovely time we were having.
I would recommend the Garden Apartment to anyone, and look forward to staying there again.

Garden Apartment on 25 Mar 2012

canoeing couple, monterey, CA USA

Rating

We stayed at the Pilrig House for two nights and enjoyed the housing, the 'close to all Edinburgh activities' location and the personal attention given to us by the owners. The facilities were more than adequate, very clean and maintained. The personal touches added a home-like atmosphere.
We would recommend The Pilrig House to anyone visiting the charming, historic city of Edinburgh.

Garden Apartment on 14 Sep 2011

scoobie, Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Rating

We loved Pilrig House. It has spoiled us for all others. All the kudos extended by other visitors are 100% true. Such a special place and such kind, caring, thoughtful hosts. I was especially impressed by the extensive DVD offerings. But...where was "The Queen"? Thank you, thank you, thank you, Debbie and Phillip. Edinburgh and Pilrig House were wonderful.

Garden Apartment on 10 Sep 2011

Newly Retired, Walla Walla, WA USA

Rating

Pilrig House is in a quiet neighborhood, a 20 minute walk to the hustle and bustle of Princes Street in downtown Edinburgh. Bus lines are around the corner and run frequently. Taxi service was excellent.Free parking is a plus when renting a car which we recommend for touring outside of the city. We found Pilrig House to be everything that was described and shown on their website. Amenities in the apartment were topnotch and included everything one would need from tea and biscuits to milk in the fridge and a decanter of whiskey on the counter. Debbie has assembled great notebooks to help guide one to special spots in the area. As first time travelers to Scotland, we were treated as friends, not merely renters, by Debbie and Philip. Debbie and I had corresponded by e-mail in the months previous to our visit so many of our questions were answered before we arrived. Philip offered to take us to the car rental agency which happened to be closed, so proceeded to take us on a tour of the area providing great local history and information. We would highly recommend this property to friends and relatives. There are so many attractions to visit in Edinburgh; if one starts by walking the Royal Mile towards the castle, you get a feel for the city and can branch out from there. Pilrig House is located in the Leith area of Edinburgh where there are many good restaurants within walking distance. We had a wonderful dinner at the Plumed Horse which is a highly acclaimed restaurant in the region. It was expensive but worth every penny. Our stay at Pilrig House for the week was the perfect place to begin our holiday.

Garden Apartment on 03 Sep 2011

Durham Bill, Durham, NC, USA

Rating

Spectacular old building in top shape, thoughtfully outfitted in every way one could want (right down to the whisky and small washer/dryer unit), incredibly gracious hosts, perfect location in between the incredible Edinborough and funky downtown Leith. Garden apartment is perfect for a couple.

Garden Apartment on 21 Jul 2010

A guest from Signal Mountain, TN, Signal Mountain, TN

Rating

We stayed in the Garden Apt. at Pilrig House in late May 2011. The property was well cared for and colorful, with flowers in bloom. Our experience proved to be everything promised by the Web site, clean, comfortable, and well furnished with everything to suit our needs. Philip was very helpful in making suggestions about local eateries. We especially enjoyed breakfast at Valvona and Crolla's, one of his recommendations.

Garden Apartment on 30 May 2011

Anita, Toronto, Canada

Rating

Based on a friend’s rave reviews about Pilrig House, I chose to stay here, in the Garden Apartment(Mar 22 – Apr 21 2011). After wonderful adventures during the day, I could come “home” to a clean, comfortable, and charming apartment to enjoy a quiet, peaceful evening in the garden or park, and then turn in for some of the best sleep (I slept like a rock), and then wake up each morning thoroughly rested to the sound of birds.
I had the best of all worlds with Princes Street truly a 15 minute walk from Pilrig; frequent buses a 2 minute walk away which brought me into the downtown if I chose not to walk, or the Ocean terminal. Debbie and Philip were amazing hosts and lovely people. I’m already planning to go back in 2012.
The listing description re location, the photos of the property and apartment -- are all accurate. Debbie and Philip were very helpful, and provided helpful hints, great directions, and the apartment was equipped with cds, dvd's, books, guides and a great guest book and overview to help to get oriented.
I loved Edinburgh, and also took a number of small coach tours of the Highlands, and St. Andrews; Scotland is an absolutely, breathtakingly beautiful country. I highly recommend Pilrig House. I truly enjoyed my stay.

Garden Apartment on 22 Mar 2011

Debbie, Ohio

Rating

My husband and I stayed in the Garden apartment during the summer of 2009, and we could not have enjoyed our stay more. Our hosts were wonderful and accommodating, thoughtful and full of information. The apartment was a dream, the photos below really do not do it justice: it was lovely and extremely comfortable. We HIGHLY recommend this experience and all that these lovely people offer in this historic home. I wish I could retreat back tomorrow -- I certainly would if I could.

Garden Apartment on 29 Jun 2009

Anonymous4, Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

Rating

We were on the trail of my husband's ancestry and spent the first part of our trip in Endinburgh at the Pilrig House. The apartment was a wonderful starting point and very convenient without being in the center City. Philip and Debbie went out of their way to make sure that your stay met every expectation and that we focused out time in Endinburgh to get the most out of our trip. Debbie even went the extra mile to help locate some family information and a couple of places we were having trouble locating. Philip is a wealth of information about the history of the area and the best places to see and eat.
We could not have asked for better accommodations or hosts.

Garden Apartment on 29 Sep 2010

Anonymous5, North Carolina, USA

Rating

This is a great vacation rental. It was clean and well maintained and the owners were very helpful. It is in a good location which is convenient to bus transportation to get to the center of the city and also has parking. Lots of character. Highly recommended.

Garden Apartment on 01 Aug 2009

Jean and Gary, Norwell, MA USA

Rating

We decided to stay in a comfortable apartment and have our time be our own. We found a well appointed home with all that you would need and more. There was fresh fruit and a decanter with whiskey and coffee, tea and more to make our first day/night comfortable. But, the real "gems" were the owners...Philip and Debbie. They went out of their way to make sure that we knew where to go, what to see and if we needed anything. Philip is an incredible history buff and a gifted story teller. We stayed a week and had hoped to extend our stay but it was booked!!
All you need to do is book this wonderful apartment and read the guest book in the home for places to visit, eat and see. Or...in a much more enjoyable fashion, take the time to meet the owners. You'll love them both.
It was all that we had hoped for and more!

Garden Apartment on 08 Sep 2010

Diana L., Brisbane, Australia

Rating

We were lucky to have found such an historic and glorious building on our first visit to Edinburgh in May 2009. We arranged all of our accommodation via the internet and the website providing information on Pilrig House was 100% accurate in its descriptions of the buildings, location, service provided by the hosts etc. After an introduction to our most charming garden apartment, Philip was kind enough to take us on a 1 hr tour of the local area (we had just arrived after 25 hours flying from Australia) and apart from pointing out places of interest, directed us to a fabulous pub, just down the road, for an early dinner.
The hosts at Pilrig House made our visit a memorable one and we have recommended it to friends in Australia. The apartment was spotless, the bed more than comfortable and the amenities quite luxurious. Makes me feel like staying there all over again! Apparently the weather during our visit was exceptionally good so that made it all the more enjoyable.

Garden Apartment on 10 May 2009

Anonymous6, Portland, Oregon

Rating

We loved staying at Pilrig House. It really was like a slice of heaven in the big city of Edinburgh. We would walk across the back yard and through the park to reach the road where we could easily catch a bus to get anywhere. There are delightful touches in the apartment, historical information on the house and such peace and quiet. Phillip was a willing tour guide the first day as his schedule permitted and is quite a source of information as were the plentiful guidebooks in the apartment. We hope to get back there. I'm still using the bookmark with the photo of Pilrig House which is a wonderful reminder of this beautiful place.

Garden Apartment on 10 Apr 2009

Anonymous7, Shelton, CT USA

Rating

We highly recommend the apartment. It's spotless, homey, comfortable, and provides everything you could possibly desire in a "home away from home". We have stayed in many rentals in Europe, and this one is on the top of the list. Personal touches such as fresh flowers, candies, breakfast provisions, and even a decanter of Scotch make this place not only special, but irresistable. The owners are welcoming, accommodating in every way, and pleasure to talk with....even giving us a short tour of the area. We can't wait to return!

Garden Apartment on 04 Mar 2010

Barbara and Gary, Shipley Yorkshire England

Rating

We had a wonderful stay in Edinburgh which was enhanced by staying at Pilrig House in the Garden Apartment. The apartment was absolutely beautiful. Everything you could wish for in self catering accommodation, defintely 5 star. Philip and Debbie manage to be the ideal hosts, there when you need them and not when you don't. Full of knowledge about the city and the surrounding area. We will be returning, hopefully in the too distant future. We have already recommended this wonderful gem to our friends and family.

Garden Apartment on 02 Nov 2008

Vibeke Strobel, Denmark

Rating

We stayed in Garden Apartment one week in Juli and had a great time. Beautiful house and apartment,very clean an cosy. Nice to sit outside in the garden and enjoy the park. Short walk to citycenter. Debbie and Philip were very helpful. We would love to come back. Eivind, Sofie and Vibeke, Denmark

Garden Apartment on 28 Aug 2008

Robin20, Pennsylvania

Rating

Debbie and Phillip made us feel like royalty during our stay in the Pilrig Garden Apartment. It was cleaner than clean, beautifully decorated, and felt like home!

Garden Apartment on 03 Aug 2008

Anonymous8, Chicago, IL

Rating

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at Pilrig House, April 23-30. We must share our enthusiastic comments about this extraordinary guest house and encourage anyone who visits Edinburgh to make this quiet, lovely oasis in the midst of this historic city their "home away from home". Debbie and Philip's gracious hospitality made our 40th wedding anniversary a celebration to remember--a bottle of chilled champagne, a card of well wishes, and fresh roses set the tone of our stay. Upon our arrival Debbie had also purchased food for our evening meal (at our request) and added a special dessert on her own. Debbie and Philip are the tourist's greatest assets; they will help in any way possible. Having an avid interest in history and literature, we found a gold mine in Philip's expertise as a guide to many spots we would not have seen on our own despite our best efforts as seasoned travelers. His anecdotes and knowledge of local lore are incomparable. Make a reservation at the beautiful accommodations of Pilrig House today!

Garden Apartment on 12 May 2008

Brad and Sarah Weiser, Atlanta, GA USA

Rating

My wife and I spent three wonderful days in Edinburgh in February. Pilrig House was everything we had been hoping for. A great location led to traveling around the city being a snap. We can't express our appreciation to Philip and Debbie enough for their hospitality. Philip was nice enough to show us around the city upon our arrival. To those reading this who are seriously considering accomidations in Edinburgh; you need to stop and email Debbie and Philip right now. You'll be glad you did.

Garden Apartment on 02 May 2008

Sandra12, Auckland, New Zealand

Rating

I spent four nights at Pilrig House in the Garden Apartment in October 2007 and it truly was a magical experience. I knew it would be special but from the moment I walked through the front door the apartment exceeded all of my expectations. Absolutely everything was thought of right down to a torch on the keyring, perfect for coming home late at night. There was nothing more we could have asked for during our stay and the wonderful edition of two hosts so willing to share their knowledge of the area only adds to the experience. The photos do not do this wonderful apartment justice, you really do have to see it for yourself.

Garden Apartment on 11 Jan 2008

Sheila W., Battle Creek, MI USA

Rating

Imagine arriving in one of the world's most beautiful and charming cities, and settling into your own peaceful oasis, complete with historic significance as the childhood residence of the Robert Louis Stevenson family. The things you'll notice are that it's as clean and tidy as you'd aspire your own home to always be (!), there are sweet touches such as cookies, tea, a fruit basket, etc. all awaiting you (Debbie's touch) and a decanter of Scotch Malt Whiskey (Philip's touch)! The bed is comfortable and there is a nice collection of books and dvd's of movies you haven't but would like to have seen. The best part, for us, was meeting Debbie and Philip. Even before booking, Debbie sent a fantastic and thorough information sheet that answered all the questions I had, and some I hadn't thought of. Philip is an absolute delight, a great, witty conversationalist who made sure we found the city's secret treasures. They took a couple's ordinary travel plans and helped them become extraordinary! Do visit Pilrig House next time you come to Edinburgh. Everything is walking distance, and the hospitality and accomodations? Superb.

Garden Apartment on 22 Oct 2007

John Breslin, Galway, Ireland

Rating

We've just returned from a lovely stay at the Garden Apartment in Pilrig House. The location is excellent, between the centres of Edinburgh and Leith, and we couldn't say enough about the luxury of the apartment, with all the treats on arrival and the lovely furnishings and views. Thank you Debbie and Philip, we'll be back!

Garden Apartment on 29 Jul 2007

Lorna and Graham Oliver, Sunderland

Rating

We stayed in the Garden appartment and it was a fabulous break. Debbie and Phil couldn't have been more welcoming and they really did think of everything, including guided tours of Edinburgh. The property itself was immaculate and so peaceful. The accomodation was equiped with everything you could possibly need. We wanted to stay much, much longer. We loved sitting watching the squirrels right outside the window, we could have been in the middle of the country not within walking distance of a major city centre! It was a fantastic, enjoyable break and we hope to return very soon. Truly a fantastic place to stay.

Garden Apartment on 24 Jul 2007

Gerrit Reijnders, Groningen / The Netherlands

Rating

We stayed at Pilrig House from 11 to 17 July. It was great. Apart from the facts mentioned above (the welcome, the chocolates, the coffee and tea, the whisky, the flowers, the fruit (!)) there were the owners. Debbie and Philip really try to do their utmost to ensure a pleasant stay. They are extremely helpful and kind.
The house is a treasure; it's charming and an invitation to relaxation.

Garden Apartment on 20 Jul 2007

Michele Cole, Atherstone Warwickshire

Rating

What can I say! What a treasure of a place to stay in! Our trip to Edinburgh in June was for my daughter's wedding and we wanted somewhere special to stay for the occasion. We couldn't have asked for more (except perhaps better weather!). This place is really a home from home and the attention to detail is incredible. The 'personal touches' were amazing, fresh fruit,chocolates,shortbread,whisky,fresh flowers..the list goes on! Pilrig park gives the feeling that you are in the countryside, yet you are only a 10 minute bus ride from the city centre with its beautiful historic buildings and all the attractions of this marvellous city! Secure car parking is a real benefit as you can safely leave your car and take advantage of the excellent public transport without the hassle of driving! I will certainly recommend this beautiful apartment to anyone looking to visit Edinburgh!

Garden Apartment on 16 Jul 2007

Roxana Smith, Colorado Springs, CO

Rating

Words fail me in describing how wonderful our stay was in this incredible garden apartment. From the moment we arrived we felt as though we were home. All the comforts were provided from fresh flowers and chocolates to milk and fruit. Maps and brochures of things to see and do in Edinbourgh as well as personal recommendations made our stay perfect. Debbie and Phillip were more than just hosts - they became friends. We recommend this apartment to everyone we meet and can't imagine staying anywhere else in Scotland!

Garden Apartment on 13 Jul 2007

Katy Beinart, Oxford, UK

Rating

We had a wonderful time staying at the garden apartment. Everything was carefully thought of, from the tasteful decoration and comfortable surroundings to delicious biscuits and useful welcome information. It was great to walk out through the garden and the park feeling as though we were residents of Edinburgh and even imagining going back in time to the days of previous residents!
The only thing we would have changed would be to have stayed for longer..
Edinburgh is a great city to wander in, and has so much fantastic art and architecture, we needed more time to soak it all in. We'll be back!

Garden Apartment on 10 Jul 2007

Sara Campbell, Castletown, Caithness, Scotland

Rating

Our stay at Pilrig Garden Apartment was really enjoyable. Debbie and Philip went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and gave us lots of useful advice to help us navigate around Edinburgh. The apartment is in a beautiful setting, tastefully decorated and really is fully equipped! All of the extra touches made the apartment feel like a home rather than rented accommodation - fresh flowers, luxury toiletries, strawberries, ground coffee, organic milk and shortbread, not to mention an alarm clock at the bedside. Our 3 and 4 year-old sons had lots of space to play with their toys and watched some of the DVDs provided. The private, secure parking enabled us to leave our car and take the bus (bus stop around the corner) when we knew public transport would be an easier option to driving. All in all we certainly had a pleasant stay in Pilrig Garden Apartment.

Garden Apartment on 05 Jul 2007

Peter Schaefer, Utah

Rating

I cannot say I have had a similar experience as a guest in any type of accomodation - Pilrig house is tops! The house itself is a fascinating piece of history, having been built from the ruins of an old fort nearby. The owners, Debbie and Philip, became instant friends and provided far more than our every need - fresh strawberries and tasty scotch were left for our arrival! The house is outfitted with all the travel guides, maps, and all else you could ever want. We were even treated to a guided tour of Edinburgh. We'll be back for sure!

Garden Apartment on 03 Jul 2007