Balfour Reviews

Elise R.

Rating

I treated my daughter and my niece to a trip to Scotland. We decided to stay at Pilrig House. Our hostess Debbie was amazing. We felt like we were staying in a castle and Debbie was our fairy godmother. She helped us before we arrived with tons of valuable information to plan our trip. Once we arrived she showed us to our room where we were greeted with a bouquet of roses, Champagne, birthday cake with candles and a card to help my daughter celebrate her birthday. We did not expect this and were so amazed at the kindness shown to us. The entire apartment was beautifully decorated, clean as a whistle and stocked with so many goodies and extras we felt like royalty. There were cute little knick knacks every where we looked from the stoic little penguin that guarded the bathroom door to the awesome towels on our beds that were shaped into eloquent swans. Every possible thing we could need or desire was there at our finger tips or a phone call away. We were in a safe and centrally located area near a gorgeous park and cute little shops and restaurants. Debbie gave us many tips on great places to eat and shops and she made sure we had easy to follow directions to get around town. At nights we would come home from a day of sightseeing or shopping and have a huge selection of DVD's to watch or books to read or games to play. There were no glitches with the internet or phone connections while we were there. Debbie also introduced us to Mike McKinlay who we hired to pick us up from the airport and take us to our destination and to take us on day trips to the Highlands and Inverness and to view Stirling Castle and all the surrounding villages and towns. He was absolutely amazing. His historical knowledge of Scotland and his witty, hilarious sense of humor made every trip we took a fun adventure. He was a complete gentleman and a safe and punctual driver. We hope to come back to Scotland because with the help of Debbie and Mike we all fell in love with this beautiful country. We would never stay anywhere else but Pilrig House or use any other driving service but Mike McKinlay. They made our dream trip to Scotland a once in a lifetime trip of fantastic memories. We give them both the absolute highest of ratings and to be honest I am very persnickety about hotels and VRBO homes. There is usually something that isn't quite up to par with them but not so with the Pilrig House. We all loved it and felt very catered to and spoiled. Thanks!

Balfour Apartment on 22 Apr 2017

Stacy S.

Rating

Words do not justice for the incredible experience by my family and I had staying at the Pilrig House in early June of this year. Upon arrival, Deb gave us a tour of our apartment. We were stunned. Every expectation was exceeded. We had a fruit, a stocked coffee and tea area and elegant toiletries waiting for us. Also, at our disposal was tour maps, bus routes and information on many sites of Edinburgh. My girls and I loved the swan towels arrangement on our bed and the white fluffy robes and slippers. Needless to say, every morning after our showers we walked around in luxury. Deb graciously took me to to super market for food just after our tour. Just WOW!! A couple of morning, we would be ready to leave to tour Edinburgh and would stop to chat with Phillip. He offered to take us to our site and provided a unique personal view of the city from a local. We were provided a connection to a personal driver, Mike who we toured with for 2 days around the Highland (I had to get my Outlander fix). Lastly, the view out our window was of Pilrig Park. Every morning, I would sit at the window looking at the people and dogs walking the part. This is truly missed. My entire family was sad to leave but we are so thankful we choose to stay at the wonderful place and meet Deb, Phillip and Mike. Much love from the Sawyer's

Balfour Apartment on 31 May 2016

VIRGINIA H.

Rating

Philip and Debbie were the most amazing hosts, from personal greeting and orientation, to assistance during our stay with any questions or requests for directions. The flat is beautifully decorated, comfortable, with many nicer than home touches, and overlooks a quiet and spacious park with window seats perfect for watching the life in the park, after a day of touring around. It is near two bus stops, and it is very convenient to take buses, if you don't want to hire a car. This is a most amazing place to stay, and we feel lucky we were able to fit into their rental schedule. We definitely recommend this vacation home, and hope to return to visit again! Thanks for our best experience yet!

Balfour Apartment on 15 Sep 2016

Anonymous1

Rating

The pictures are an accurate representation, we loved it.

Balfour Apartment on 27 Aug 2016

Ilene V., Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Rating

If it were possible to give the Pilrig House more than 5 stars, we would. We have travelled, extensively throughout the world, renting houses and apartments, and have never been as pleased and impressed as we were with the accommodations and hosts as we were with the Pilrig House. The only negative is that we think that our future lodgings will pale in comparison to the Pilrig House. The apartment was spotlessly clean, furnished beautifully and fully equipped to meet every possible need. The location was perfect, too. It was outside of the city, in a park, and within walking distance to all of the main attractions in Edinburgh. A large supermarket and good restaurants are just a few blocks away. Debbie and Philip were warm, friendly and helpful. Philip offered to drive us to different places during our stay and had great stories to share about Edinburgh’s history.

We could list all of the supplies that were available in our apartment, but all we need to say is that it had every possible item anyone would ever need!

We loved our visit to Edinburgh and will always remember it as one of our best trips.

Balfour Apartment on 28 May 2015

melanie v.

Rating

We stayed in the Balfour apartment for a week in July so that we could visit Edinburgh and also travel to the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. The apartment was brilliant - beautifully furnished and equipped with everything you could possibly want. The location was fantastic - situated in the middle of Pilrig Park, so you wouldn't know that you were a few minutes away from the city centre and Leith. Everywhere was within a short bus ride or longer walk.

Philip and Debbie were great hosts and very helpful in suggesting things to do and places to eat.

All the family had a brilliant time and would love to revisit. We would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Edinburgh

Balfour Apartment on 20 Jul 2014

Sarah H.

Rating

I stayed with my family in the Balfour Apartment at Pilrig House for a week in August of this year. We were in Edinburgh to see theater at the Fringe, and in particular to see our son who was performing in one of the many (thousands?) of productions. The Balfour Apartment, a two bedroom, fully appointed suite, was delightful. It was serenely quiet, comfortable, beautifully furnished and exceedingly well supplied with absolutely anything and everything you might need - from rain ponchos to whisky guides. The owners have thought of absolutely everything. We enjoyed staying a little out of the fray of the fringe and if you are a foodie, Leith is full of wonderful spots, both high end and more casual. Our best meal the entire time we were in Edinburgh was at Fishers in Leith. An evening at the King's Wark, also in Leith, was a close second. Mike, the recommended airport transport fellow and all around guide, was a gem. We spent a day with him in the Highlands. He was both knowledgeable and delightful. I would highly recommend Pilrig House and Mike. We will certainly return.

Balfour Apartment on 11 Aug 2014

Bucketing Down in Scotland, Brookfield, Wisconsin, U.S.

Rating

My Partner and I were celebrating one of lifes milestones and we were so glad we chose the hospitality of Debbie and Philip who made our stay in Edinburgh incredible. From the fact that the apartment had everything we needed to feel at home and a place to relax after days of exploration of the sights throughout Edinburgh. To sharing their knowledge of the city and surroundings to make the best of a few days exploring the city. . We found that using Pilrig House as our base it was very easy getting throughout the city using public transportation.

Thank you for making a special Birthday even better.

Balfour Apartment on 19 Aug 2014

Christoph, Berlin, Germany

Rating

We visited Scotland for 2 weeks and stayed the first week in Edinburgh Pilrig House. An excellent choice as we know yet. The apartment was the best we rent for the last Years. It is equipped perfectly with so much love for details and warmly welcome to the guests. We cannot think of any missing equipment to make our stay in Pirig House unforgettable. Never have so much very good information’s about Scotland and its interesting sites to visit. Thank you so much Debbi and Philipp for your hospitality, we felt like at home. It was not the last stay in this beautiful location in Scotland.

Balfour Apartment on 12 Jul 2014

Wendy, Roanoke, VA

Rating

My husband and I just returned from two wonderful weeks in Edinburgh. We stayed at the Pilrig House in the Balfour Apartment for both weeks and it couldn't have been more perfect. The apartment was so lovely. Spotless, beautifully decorated, quiet, and was appointed with everything we could possibly need. The amenities were top notch.

Philip and Debbie are incredibly kind and generous hosts and they take a genuine interest in their guests. When we first arrived at the house, Philip was standing in the driveway waiting for us. Just about every day we would find ourselves in long, interesting conversations with him. He is extremely knowledgeable about the history of Scotland and told us some great stories. Our first evening there we were going to walk to the grocery store and Philip, who happened to be going there himself, offered to give us a ride. He ended up giving us an impromptu tour of the city! On another day, Debbie, on her way to go shopping, led us on a drive into a couple of the nearby villages, pointing out things we might be interested in going back to see. She also recommended some wonderful restaurants.

The location of Pilrig House is perfect. Pilrig Park is beautiful and we enjoyed sitting in the window seats in our apartment and watching all the people and dogs playing late into the evening. It's a pretty quick walk to Leith and just a short bus ride to city centre (the number 11 bus stop is right on the other side of the park). We rented a car while there (best decision!) and the location was perfect as a "home base". We took day trips into the country and surrounding villages and then would come back every evening to cook dinner and relax. I joked that all I needed was my dog and some more clothes and I could have stayed forever! We fell in love with Scotland and the people and hope to go back to Edinburgh and the Pilrig House one day soon. We wouldn't stay anywhere else! Thank you, Philip and Debbie, for a wonderful experience!

Balfour Apartment on 12 May 2014

Jim E.

Rating

Looking through all the reviews for Pilrig House, this place had a lot to live up to and it certainly did from the moment we arrived which was met with a beautiful bouquet of flowers, chocolates and Champagne for my wife who was celebrating her 50th Birthday. The generosity of the owners was beyond compare and the apartment itself is a true home from home plus some more. As self catering goes this has got to be the best it can get. Situated within easy walking distance of Central Edinburgh and very close to the bus services. Many excellent eating places within 10 minutes walk. If you are looking for that extra bit of comfort and luxury then you can't go wrong and with the lovely owners on hand this was a very memorable and thoroughly enjoyable break.

We stayed here as a family for my wife's 50th Birthday.

Balfour Apartment on 17 Feb 2014

Lauren F., Atlanta

Rating

My husband and I arrived to the Pilrig House for the first leg of our honeymoon and...WOW!!!!!!!! We were welcomed with open arms by Debbie and Philip, who are the epitome of wonderful, gracious host! Debbie met us for an early morning arrival and her warmth and kindness instantly made us feel right at home - it was the type of reception typically expected from only family! Seeing that we were in need of a nap after a long flight, Debbie showed us around the apartment, highlighting all of the need-to-know items, and told us to contact her once we were settled if we had any questions or additional needs. Surprisingly, we didn't have to contact Debbie or Philip for any additional needs, because the apartment is equipped with every luxury a traveler could want!

The apartment is exactly like the pictures and is spotlessly clean. The fresh fruit, coffee and teas, and other goodies were wonderful to have upon arrival, along with the slippers and cotton robes. Each guest room had comfy beds with soft linens and plenty of pillows and warm blankets to snuggle into. The bathroom has lovely scented soaps and lotions, and we especially loved having the towel warmer to heat the plush towels. The kitchen is stocked with all the tools and gadgets a cook might need - from colanders and vegetable peelers to baking dishes and bottle openers...they have it all. In the living room, we found the local magazines stocked full of great articles and information about Scotland, and utilized the User Guides full of Philip and Debbie's recommendations, maps, menus, and much more. We also enjoyed strolling through the house gardens and evening walks around Pilrig Park.

We can’t think of anything we would change about our stay at the Pilrig House. The warmth and welcomed feeling of our arrival lasted throughout our entire visit; it was truly like we were staying with family! Debbie and Phillip are such special people, a wonderful first impression to Scotland and her people. So, do yourself a favor and make reservations here – you will not regret it! We’re already planning our return visit…

Balfour Apartment on 22 Sep 2013

filippo p.

Rating

We stayed in the apartment for 9 nights in august (festival time) with our little daughter. The apartment is really beautiful, very quiet and clean. You're in the city but it seems to be in the country as you have the park in front of your windows. Supermarket + bus stops close to the building.We are very used to travel and rent apartments all over the world, but honestly this is far away the best one for the amenities we found: kitchen stuff, books+guides+maps, towels+linens+bathrobes, dvds, welcoming food. Simply perfect. The hosts were very helpful with their suggestions for excursions (we had a rented car) and even more to solve our problems (we had a problem with the car). Very recommendable. You feel at home at first sight.

Balfour Apartment on 09 Aug 2013

Kristi M., Corona, CA

Rating

Our stay at Pilrig House Balfour Apartment was one of the highlights of our trip to Scotland/Ireland. On arrival Philip was there to greet us and help us get settled. He even took us for a quick tour around the city and took us to get our grocery's for the week. The apartment was so well stocked with everything one could think of or need. The location was perfect we walked to dinner and up and back from the Royal Mile. While in the planning stages Debbie was so quick to respond to every email in helping with any question we had to make our trip memorable. I cannot say enough about our experience at the Pilrig House, our host Philip and Debbie are one of a kind hosts!!

Balfour Apartment on 18 May 2013

BC, Colorado

Rating

The property was better than the listing description. It was super clean and very first class in every way.

The owners are delightful and helpful people, and we enjoyed meeting them and all the ways they made us feel like their special guests. Will certainly recommend Pilrig House to any friends going to Edinburgh

Balfour Apartment on 12 May 2013

Seniors Who Love to Travel, Chilliwack, BC Canada

Rating

We were looking forward to staying in this historic building - we were not disappointed. We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit - it was absolutely wonderful. The apartment was superb. The hosts are awesome. Philip greeted us and showed us how to get to many of the tourist sights. But when he found out we like second hand - over there charity - shops, he showed us where they were located. And then yet another bonus, he told us of the car ‘Boot’ sale at a car park on Sunday morning - it was a lot of fun. Pilrig house is actually quite central to a number of attractions by foot and by bus. The view from the apartment overlooking the park out front is beautiful and watching park visitors with and without their pets was entertaining. It is a very relaxing, very pleasant, a very nice place to wake up to in the morning and to wind down at the end of a busy day of taking in the sights. One thing we never counted on was the use of a membership for the nearby “Scotch Malt Whisky Society” - we are not drinkers but the atmosphere and the fair priced, delicious meal was one of the highlights of our trip. The washing/dryer machine was nice to have. There are a lot of nice little extras there that were definitely appreciated. While not a discout accomodation, it is fair, and well worth, the price. All 4 of us (2 couples) really enjoyed our stay.

Balfour Apartment on 04 May 2013

Et & Ken, Surrey

Rating

The Balfour Apt was easily the most luxurious home from home we have stayed in. It was beautifully furnished with top quality bed linen, beautiful furniture, décor and everything you could wish for in the kitchen from coffee makers, champagne bottle stopper and pots & pans better than at home! I will definitely be nicking some of Debbie's design features for any future home we may have!

A lovely personal touch from Philip was taking us on a trip of Leith to show us the area and as we may one day move to Edinburgh, a really interesting insight into property from a local's point of view.

Location wise Pilrig House is very close to City Centre, walkable but lots of regular busses passing near by. Lots and lots of lovely restaurants within a 10 minute walk at the Port. The view from the apartment is over the park with dog walkers aplenty. It was just so peaceful and astonishing that it is so close to a city centre.

We loved staying at Pilrig House, will definitely be back and would highly recommend the Balfour Apartment.

Balfour Apartment on 05 Apr 2013

Rob, Groningen the Netherlands

Rating

In Leith in the north from Edinburgh is this appartement for 4,about 25 min walk from princesstreet.

It is at the 2e floor of pilgrimhouse at a park ,very nice situated.

The appartement has a very warm and clean and new atmosfeer.The owner has taken care that everything is perfectly alright.Whisky,water,milk ,manderins,coffee and thee as oil and vinager ,spices an sugar.Massief DVD's en cd's for everybodys choice.Perfect dishwasher and wasmachine and dryer in one.

Perfect beds and very nice bathroom.After a day out perfect coming home.

Balfour Apartment on 14 Dec 2012

Kathy, Novato California

Rating

My husband and I recently stayed at Pilrig House...It's absolutely the most elegant rental we've stayed in. Beautifully furnished, the apartment has a well stocked kitchen, lovely view, a fireplace, comfortable beds and it's in a great location...right off the park and we could walk everywhere...The hosts, Debbie and Philip Martin were extremely gracious and extraordinarily helpful and generous. We will come back to Edinburgh and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Balfour Apartment on 06 Oct 2012

Douglas, Calgary Alberta Canada

Rating

Premises gleaming clean upon our arrival. The photos of the advertised space are accurate. Upon arrival at 9:00 on a rainy mid-October evening we were cheerfully greeted at the taxi by Debbie armed with umbrellas and took us to Balfour spending half an hour with us getting us acquainted with the area maps in readiness for our stay. Philip is an historian, a native of Edinburgh and both he and Debbie are fully versed in all the local attractions and tours. All of our questions of the area were answered and the property is located almost exactly midway from the base North Bridge at High Street in Edinburgh to the town centre in Leith. Bus service readily available either at Pilrig Street or Leith Walk if you don't want to head out on foot, but we found that over our two-week stay an easy walk to both Edinburgh's attractions and the Leith restaurants. The property has a tranquil garden area and we rested on a garden bench watching the birds at the feeder for a short while in the afternoon arriving home from the hustle Edinburgh's shopping along Princes Street and the Royal Mile. Debbie and Philip are natural, ernest and caring caretakers of the property and it is easy to see how they are Thistle award winners.

Recommended attractions are: The Edinburgh Castle: HolyRood Palace and Abbey: Mary's Close underground tour: Rabbies single day tours (we took two and they were great); Leith Waters walk - I got a photo of a blue heron at the weir; New Town for dinner or lunch - interesting walk along George, Thistle and Queen; Leith town centre along river's edge; the lighthouse at Newhaven; Bus Route 16 past NewHaven to Lauriston Castle; a train ride to Stirling and visit the Castle - the jail tour fell short of my expectations but the castle tour was amazing; a short ride to St Andrews golf course if you are interested but the university tops the golf course for reverent grace; a tour through Perthshire (Central Highlands) with Rabbies in autumn brings stunning beauty. I could go on and on.

I treasure the time spent with Philip and Debbie as their understanding of the history and culture of not only the Leith and Edinburgh areas but of all of Scotland is impressive.

Balfour Apartment on 17 Oct 2012

Golfer girl, Tennessee

Rating

My daughter and I recently traveled to Scotland from Tennessee for a dream come true holiday. Our stay at the Pilrighouse house was absolutely lovely. The apartment was exceptional and had any accommodation that one could ask for. The owner was extremely helpful with any events that we might want to attend and was an aid with all directions. To anyone that is making plans for time in Edinburgh, let Pilrig House be your place to stay.

Balfour Apartment on 22 Jul 2012

Jamie C., Glendora, California, USA

Rating

From the minute we arrived we were met by Phil, who welcomed us, gave us a tour, provided a little history of Pilrig House, and pointed out the local attractions.

The house was beautiful, comfortable, and felt like home. Waking up in the morning and looking out over the park was a great way to start the day.

We are already making plans to return.

Balfour Apartment on 03 Sep 2012

French, France

Rating

We enjoyed staying at Pilrig House, it was conform to the description and the owners were very nice. It is well located and great with children with the park so close.

Balfour Apartment on 28 Jul 2012

Anonymous2, Leavenworth WA USA

Rating

My husband and I shared the Balfour Apt with a friend for 8 days. I cannot remember a time when I have stayed in a rental apartment that was this perfect for our needs. The attention to detail is amazing. Who would have thought that a vacation rental would come complete with fresh flowers, chocolates, fruit, and scotch whiskey not to mention the coffee, tea, milk and shortbread cookies. The kitchen was more than adequate. Debbie and Phillip are wonderful hosts.Every request for information was met with enthusiasm and kindness. I particularly liked the comfortable beds, the inexhaustible supply of movie DVDs, and the wonderful views of the park. We did not rent a car and found that the local buses were clean and efficient in getting us to the city centre and other areas of interest. Next time we vacation in Edinburgh, I will call Debbie first to make sure they have a booking available BEFORE I book our plane tickets. Pilrig House is that good!

Balfour Apartment on 16 Jun 2012

Kendra, Baltimore, Maryland

Rating

The apartment was lovely, clean and well maintained. The pictures of the apartment were beautiful, but it was even better than anticipated. Debbie and Phillip were great hosts and provided lots of useful information for our stay as well as recommendations for activities, dining, etc. The apartment was well stocked with loads of little extras. The location couldn't have been more perfect. It was a quiet, parklike atmosphere, but still easy walking distance to attractions. Would definitely recommend.

Balfour Apartment on 09 Jun 2012

DKW, Washington State

Rating

Our recent stay in Pilrig House was everything we hoped for and more. The apartment is comfortable, spacious, beautifully furnished and has every amenity. From the very beginning we received regular and very helpful communication from the Pilrig House owner, and upon our arrival we received a warm personal welcome. The owner had stocked the apartment and refrigerator with many items to make our stay more enjoyable. Although we chose to walk to all the wonderful sights in the bustling city of Edinburgh, the bus stop is only a block away and runs frequently. Restaurants and shopping are within an easy walk. The house itself is in a very quiet and peaceful setting making it easy to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. We will definitely plan to return to Pilrig House when we make our next trip to Edinburgh.

Balfour Apartment on 17 May 2012

LindaMac, United Kingdom

Rating

We stayed in the Balfour Apartment of Pilrig House. We were two couples so the two double bedrooms were perfect for us. We stayed for a long weekend arriving Friday evening and leaving Monday morning,

On the first evening we walked to Leith and dined at Ship on the Shore, then woke early next morning to visit Edinburgh Castle. We set off walking to the Castle but after about 15 minutes hailed a cab, the castle was amazing with so much to learn about Scottish history. As the one o'clock gun fired we headed for lunch at the Witchery. We went home to the apartment around 4pm and had a rest and a lazy night in. We had a relaxed meal at the dining table and opened the excellent bottle of wine left by our hosts, then settled in to watch one of the many films provided in the apartment.

On Sunday we walked to the Botanical Gardens, a delightful experience to see such an impressive collection of exotic plants, the glasshouses are easily comparable with those at Kew Gardens. We relaxed at home in the afternoon and then went to a Ghost Tour at 8pm to Greyfriars Cemetery - great fun! and topping off the evening at a traditional Scottish pub.

On Monday we headed for an American Diner en route for the journey home.

We had a great weekend: the location of Pilrig is excellent; the building itself is impressive; every possible comfort was provided; the hosts were lovely; the standard of furnishing and decor was very high and overall an excellent place to stay. I would certainly go back there and recommend it to friends.

Balfour Apartment on 04 May 2012

Wendy and David, Toronto, Canada

Rating

We stayed at Pilrig House in Edinburgh with friends who were on their 5th visit! They convinced us that there is no place like it. Having spent a week there, we now understand what the raves were all about. The apartment was beautiful and fully stocked with all the conveniences of a spa, luxurious towelling robes, the most comfortable down beds and pillows, a decanter of Scotch, fresh flowers, a huge selection of DVDs and a "Welcome Back" torte. But Debbie and Philip were the icing on the cake. I mentioned I wanted to find some information on a specific clan. That night there was a printed fact sheet with everything I needed to know right outside our door. We talked about some movies we hadn't yet seen. Shortly after, a large bag with those movies appeared on our door handle. Debbie was also very helpful in guiding us to the best shopping and eating areas. And Philip ensured the men got to their favourite spots as well. When (not if) we go back to Edinburgh, we will definitely stay at Pilrig House.

Balfour Apartment on 22 Mar 2012

colleen b., seattle Wash USA

Rating

Xmas in edinburgh. stayed in Pilrig House for 2 weeks over holidays. Beautiful setting in park, quiet safe and lovely views from every window. Debbie and Philip,proprietors, were a wealth of information on edinburgh and surrounding scotland. They took every opportunity to make sure we were well taken care of and every need and question seen too. Furnished beautifully with every thing you would need for a perfect stay. Apartment spotlessly clean perfectly maintained and again so very peaceful. A pleasure from start to finish. We are planning our next trip to Pilrig House already and can't wait to return to our cozy home away from home in Scotland.

Balfour Apartment on 13 Dec 2011

Stimulus, Framingha, MA USA

Rating

My son was lucky enough to perform in the Fringe Festival this year. I needed two rooms for a week and hotels rooms are hard to find during Fringe. We reserved the Balfour Apartment at Pilrig House through VRBO.com with little time to spare. The rooms are beautiful and sunny and in brand new condition. It is very quiet and located on a nice park. Stores, pubs, dining and services are a short walk. The bus stops (including tour bus) are a two minute walk. Debbie and Philip are so thoughtful and helpful and provide loads of information for tourists. We loved it.

Balfour Apartment on 18 Aug 2011

Coco, Brisbane, Australia

Rating

We loved our stay at Pilrig House. The apartment is very large, very comfortable and extremely well stocked with everything you could possibly need. It is in a great location, within walking distance of lots of restaurants, shops and things to see and do. Debbie has heaps of helpful advice on the best places to eat and other local knowledge. Our stay in Edinburgh was a highlight of our recent holiday to UK and France and we highly recommend this apartment.

Balfour Apartment on 05 Sep 2011

Leslie B., Chicago, IL, USA

Rating

We stayed with our two boys (ages 9 & 11) in the Balfour Apartment for three nights September 2-4, 2011. Debbie and Philip are the most gracious hosts and we enjoyed meeting them very much. The apartment is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and contains everything you could possibly need. I felt truly pampered with all of the beautiful tea, flowers, fresh fruit, special soaps and of course the whiskey!! It is comfortable and peaceful while still being close to the city. We loved that we could leave the car at the apartment and explore the city without the hastle of parking. There is a wealth of information about the area in the apartment. Philip was of great assistance to us in making the most of our short stay. We absolutely loved Edinburgh and if you are planning on visiting, this is the place to stay.

Balfour Apartment on 02 Sep 2011

Just Folks, Kansas City USA

Rating

We stayed at the Balfour Apartment (Upper left side of house) for about a week in June 2010. This is an excellent location (between Edinburgh's Old Town and Leith, roughly) for a visit.

The reviews here are accurate---the house has undergone a thorough, and lovingly done, restoration and it has both modern and historic features. (The historic connection of this house to Robert Louis Stevenson, who is securely on Scotland's MVP list, is a fact that our teenage history-loving kids found especially intriguing!) The gardens surrounding the house are lovely, and the hosts couldn't be nicer.

The apartment is exceedingly clean and livable. There are two nice bedrooms and if you need a third bed, there is a pullout sofa in the living room. Everything works and windows easily open, which is almost unique for a house of this age. Having travelled a good bit, we could tell that a good deal of attention was paid to the renovation of this house. The kitchen is modern and there is wireless ethernet. The complimentary whiskey, fruit, etc. are a really nice touch and makes the place feel more like home when you return after a sojourn. The shower is first rate.

[We have no criticism of Pilrig House, and only one bit of constructive advice: consider the alternatives before using the combination (that is, all in one) washer/dryer in the kitchen. It is somewhat finicky to use, and only suitable for a very light load of clothes you don't particularly care about---a few socks and shorts, or a few shirts. If the Space Station has a washer/dryer, I bet this is it.]

We highly recommend Pilrig House!

Balfour Apartment on 17 Jun 2010

Scotty, Santa Fe, NM, USA

Rating

Debbie and Philip are hosts par excellence. They thought of EVERYTHING to ensure a memorable stay, and even with all bases covered, there were "extras" to welcome and delight their guests, eg., whisky, shortbread, chocolates, videos, writing material etc. The apartment was spotlessly clean, very well maintained, and had everything in place that anyone could possibly need. The decor was lovely and the location was perfect for walks in the neighbouring park, buses to town, an easy walk to Leith and some memorable seafood restaurants. Location, amenities and appearance were flawless. Debbie and Philip were always available and attentive to guests and provided fascinating information re. the history of the house and surroundings, the R.L. Stephenson connection, places to see and things to do etc. I highly recommend a stay at Pilrig House.

Balfour Apartment on 04 Jul 2010

Robin D., Maryland, USA

Rating

My family and I stayed at Pilrig house during a recent family trip to Scotland. The apartment was beautiful, clean, and wonderfully comfortable. It was the perfect place to relax after our daily excursions, get a good night's sleep, and make our plans for the next day. Debbie and Philip were so friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. We couldn't have been happier and we all look forward to returning again someday!

Balfour Apartment on 04 Sep 2009

Rosemary12, Toronto

Rating

Our family spent a lovely week in Edinburgh at Pilrig House in August 2010. We can not say enough about it. It is an immaculate apartment in a lovely historical building adjacent to a park. Downtown Edinburgh is a 20-30 minute walk away. Debbie and Peter thought of every welcoming gesture for their guests. A book indicates their favourite shops, restaurants and activities for those in need of ideas. Fresh fruit, flowers, tea, coffee, milk, cookies and a decanter of scotch await your arrival. A pleasant surprise after a long journey. For rainy days a large selection of DVDs is provided. Debbie and Philip are not at all intrusive, but if approached will offer their suggestions for outings. Highly recommended.

Balfour Apartment on 31 Jul 2010

Anonymous3, Minneapolis, MN

Rating

My husband, son and I stayed at Pilrig House in August while we took in the sights and attended the Festival Fringe in Edinburgh. Pilrig House was a wonderful place to stay. The property was clean and well maintained. The photos are accurate--it is a very nice place. We were comfortable, enjoying the chocolates and biscuits Debbie and Philip provided! The apartment looks out onto a park, so we were able to watch dog walkers and the antics of their pets. It was easy to get into town by either bus or by foot. We were close enough to enjoy the many activities in town and yet still have a quiet, relaxing place to come back to in the evening. The first day we were there we were going to the botanical gardens and wanted to find a place to eat along the way. Debbie happened to be driving into town and saw us walking. She offered us a ride to the gardens, gave us a recommendation for lunch and actually dropped us at the restaurant! You couldn't ask us for more hospitality! We enjoyed the seafood restaurants in Leith. Information in the apartment with restaurant recommendations from fellow travelers was helpful. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and family.

Balfour Apartment on 15 Aug 2010

Sarah, Columbus, Ohio

Rating

Balfour Apartment is beautiful and spacious. Debbie and Philip were so friendly and helpful and clearly put all their efforts into making guests' stays as comfortable and homey as possible. We would recommend Pilrig House to anyone visiting. We'd also recommend the Roseleaf for dinner.

We hope to return in the future.

Balfour Apartment on 29 Oct 2010

Broxi, Dunstable, UK

Rating

We spent 6 nights at Pilrig House in late May and found it to be the best accommodation we have come across in all our travels. The whole experience was first class and nothing was missed or done cheaply by the owners. The location is great for both the trendy restaurants in Leith and the sights in Central Edinburgh

Balfour Apartment on 28 Jun 2009

Val Pace, Yorkshire

Rating

Pilrig House is the perfect place to stay - luxurious and spotlessly clean. It has a touch of history you can almost feel. Close enough to the city centre to walk yet in a tranquil parkland setting.

Debbie and Philip are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

We would recommend Pilrig without hesitation.

Balfour Apartment on 05 Jan 2009

Chad and Kelly, Dothan, AL

Rating

When we arrived we felt as though we stepped back in time with the beautifuly restored Pilrig House situated in Pilrig Park. The apartment met all of our needs and offered many extras to assist with our first visit to Edinburgh. Debbie and Phillip add all of the perfect personal touches to make you feel as though you are their most important guest. It was a perfect stay in a beautiful city!

Balfour Apartment on 04 Sep 2008

Mickie, HARTSELLE, ALABAMA USA

Rating

When we arrived at our apartment, and opened the door -we were simply awed!

A 5 star rating should be given here not only for the best amenities in the Country, but the most friendly,helpful,"give the shirt off their back for you" proprietors . I have staying many a hotel and B & B including Bahama's ATLANTIS HOTEL!! THERE ISN'T EVEN ONE 5 STAR HOTEL WHO CAN BEAT PILGRIG HOUSE. I also want to say that we met not only our "landlords" for the week, but wonderful caring "friends" for ever. And if God permits we will return as soon as we are able.

Love to you - Phillip and Debbie

All our best - Micki and Marion Aug 2 thru Aug 8

Balfour Apartment on 02 Aug 2008

Julia Doten, Massachusetts, USA

Rating

We stayed in the lovely Balfour apartment, with

window seats overlooking Pilrig Park. Each morning

I watched patrons of the park walk their dogs while

enjoying morning tea and toast with Scottish honey.

The apartment was roomy, comfortable, very clean,

and well equipped; every detail attended to.

Complimentary tea, coffee, chocolates (yummy!),

fresh fruit, flowers and organic milk ensured we

could begin our stay as though we were at home.

Hosts Debbie and Philip leave nothing to chance,

and were helpful throughout the week with our

questions and needs. Wonderful hosts! The location

is serene considering you are in the city, and it is

easy to get to area attractions. We truly relaxed

upon arrival each evening after our day trips out.

Balfour Apartment on 12 Aug 2008

John Lotherington, London

Rating

Pilrig House was a complete delight - tranquil, beautifully furnished and equipped, with attention to every detail. And a wonderful warm welcome from the owners, Philip and Debbie. If you're heading to Edinburgh, I'd strongly recommend staying there.

Balfour Apartment on 05 Aug 2008

laurraine

Rating

our stayed at pilrig apartment was just perfect.

excellent holiday accommodation.

very well equipped and clean.

friendly and helpful hosts.

would recommend.

thank-you.

laurraine and family.

Balfour Apartment on 03 Aug 2008